Anodyne – Lyrics

Anodyne is said to be written by Neal Tiemann, with the help of David Cook. You can listen to the original version of the song at MWK’s MySpace. Anodyne was sung by David for the first time at the Waverly concert.

Here are the lyrics posted by Angelsky0179 at DCO (see actual post here).

Anodyne

Baby it’s our hearts slow beating
That make us grow old.
I mean to say there’s no one helping
We’re digging our own hole.

I’m reading your words, they’re scrawled on the page,
They lay here in silent rage.
I’ll hold you to this for as long as I breathe
Much more than whispers.

If I ever found a one leaf(ed?) clover,
It would be you.
Wishing that such heights were lower,
And nothing is new.

Citing your verse, it couldn’t sound worse
The black recital I did rehearse.
We all die alone and as I’m clenching this phone,
I can’t imagine a slowing hearse.

How many times will I play the hero
How many lies before it’s true
How many times will we clock out at zero
How many tries before we’re through
How many lives ’till another you

The scars are slowly healing
The lips have regained feeling
The obstacles are kneeling
The final wax is sealing

The great white ships are sailing
The feet have left their railing
The four last hooves are hailing.

How many times will I play the hero
How many lies before it’s true
How many times will we clock out at zero
How many tries before we’re through
How many lives ’till another you

Baby it’s our hearts slow beating
That make us grow old.
I mean to say there’s no one helping
We’re digging our own hole.

~ by imomiron on 02/24/2009.

3 Responses to “Anodyne – Lyrics”

  1. OMG, I love love love this song. I loved it more than Andy’s version. (shhh. hehe) The song is very addicting, btw

  2. i think anodyne and souvenir are two non-album songs i love most

  3. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Deborah L R, Nicole. Nicole said: @Xstine21 Anodyne lyrics https://cookistangmiron.wordpress.com/2009/02/24/anodyne/ […]

Leave a Reply

 
